Deadly Poisonous

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe I came across a family of the deadly poisonous death caps (Amanita phalloides, in German: Grüner Knollenblätterpilz).

This is a younger one. The older ones looked exactly like the pictures in my mushroom book. With a little twig I removed some ground to check the base (volva) and found what gives it the German name: the Knolle (bulb shaped base).

Doesn't this "child" look innocent?

And that's why I don't collect mushrooms. My knowledge is out of books.
I only look and blip. Doesn't hurt.


As the common name suggests, the fungus is highly toxic, and it is responsible for the majority of fatal mushroom poisonings worldwide.
Its biochemistry has been researched intensively for decades, and it is estimated that 30 grams (1 oz), or half a cap, of this mushroom is enough to kill a human.
In 2006, a family of three in Poland was poisoned, resulting in one death and the two survivors requiring liver transplants.
Some authorities strongly advise against putting suspected death caps in the same basket with fungi collected for the table and to avoid touching them. Furthermore, the toxicity is not reduced by cooking, freezing, or drying.
Source: Wikipedia


7:15 pm 21,4°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.