Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Wind in the Willows - October Origins

I've had this book since I was 7 and it's one of the few things from my childhood that I've still got, I've always treasured it.

I can't remember ever not being able to read, my mum taught me when I was tiny - she says I could read before I could walk, which I don't think is quite true ;o) My childhood was spent with my nose in a book, with the result that I think I missed half of it, oblivious to what was going on around me!

My dad brought this book back for me from one of his tours with the RAF - he often used to have to do 6 months 'unaccompanied', then he'd either come back or we'd join him wherever he'd been posted. In between, we'd live with my mum's parents in Shepherd's Bush so it seemed like my whole childhood was spent moving house!

This is my first October Origins blip - idea devised by Life of Pontycyclops, with details here.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.