Polytunnel October

Please forgive me if I have a quick gush and come over all Gwyneth Paltrow. Thank you so much for all the hearts, stars and warm and wonderful comments for yesterday, it is all quite gob-smacking!!! And very much appreciated.

Anyway, back to reality - you're getting the polytunnel today. This should have been yesterday's blip, as serpent's eagle eyes noticed, but I didn't think it was quite thrilling enough for a blipday! It's looking pretty dull in here now, most things have been pulled out and only a few things are carrying gamely on. On the left are beetroot and winter lettuce. The bags hanging up contain herbs (and grains of rice,thank you disdatdudda) which should be drying but as we haven't had any sun since I hung them up I suspect they're just going mouldy. All grapes from the vine at the end have been eaten or juiced. On the right there are some spring cabbage which are so far caterpillar free, cauliflowers, chard, a few peppers and right at the end is the rocket still going strong. All I'm going to put in now are some garlic and onions, and some lambs lettuce and winter greens. The stuff causing the bulging in the plastic on the outside is encroaching brambles - I must go and hack them back!You can see how the year in the polytunnel is looking so far.

Other news - the weather seems to have got even worse and we're now enjoying gale force mist. The children are giddy and the teachers weary - and did you know it's World Teachers Day!! No, me neither till just now - why didn't anyone tell us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.