Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

October Origins - Where's my boots?

This is the only sporting trophy I've ever won, and to be fair I didn't have to do anything to earn it other than turn up to training each week. You see I was never good at football; I only went along because my friends were playing, although I do remember I time when I was played up front and had quite a prolific period at one time, banging in the goals from all areas. It didn't last, but it was a good laugh and it kept you fit. I never made the first team but was always at training and regularly supported the team at home matches.

Ironically my one chance of playing in the first team came and went in the blink of an eye. All our matches were played on a Sunday morning, this one time we were at home and as usual I went with my mates to watch the match. When we got there a few of the lads had cried off and we were short, here's my chance I thought I only needed to get my boots, but sadly I had forgotten my house key and my mother and father had gone to church. So close but yet so far!

Rugby was more my game, and I ending up as a blindside flanker or number eight. I knew I had the skills, I was tall and I had a side step to die for. Wales was robbed of my talent though, as first my eyesight went and then illness struck me down; Wales' loss was construction's gain. Lol!

With the sad news of Steve Jobs, the co-founder of Apple, last night I just want to leave you with some key words that meant a lot to him:

"Stay hungry. Stay foolish."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.