Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

In opposite direction

First of all: thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's blip; much appreciated!

After the "sunrise session" yesterday, it started raining and that was how it stayed for the rest of the day. The plan was to get out again for daytime photography and to capture a sunset, but this just wasn't possibe. Instead, we discussed eachother's photos and Bas Meelker, our teacher, pointed out where he thought our photography could improve. I have learned a lot and hopefully I will be able to make another step forward.

Today the second day of the landscape photography masterclass. The weather was dry but the sky was completely covered with clouds. Bas took us to a difficult location to capture the sunrise. It looked very chaotic and the challenge was to find a composition that would work. I will admit I didn't take a single picture facing towards the point where the sun would come up, though I was able to see how it would work with the right light. However, the light was horrible and I just didn't have any inspiration. For a brief moment the sky turned red and at that point some good photos could be made. Unfortunately this required a lens with more zoom than I have. Niels was so kind to lend me a lens but by the time I was ready, the red colour had almost disappeared again.

I then turned my attention to the opposite direction and started experimenting with the waves and long exposures. I liked the colour of the water and the effect of the longer exposure. I don't think this is nearly as good as yesterday's image but it was still a nice experiment. Bas asked me why I hadn't tried the 10 stop ND filter (the Big Stopper) and that's a good question. It would have been interesting to see the effect that has.

By the time we returned to our cars, it started raining again. Just like yesterday, it continued raining. More discussions of photos, including a selection of my photos. I picked up some more hints, tips and tricks. After lunch it was still raining and we decided that would be the end of the masterclass. Despite the horrible weather, it was great fun and I learned a lot.

Leaving earlier as expected also meant being home earlier so I could be there when the girls went to bed. As much fun as photography is, it can't beat the pleasure of coming home, getting hugs and finding out what the girls have been doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.