Another day goes by

By WelshSi

Grandad - October Origins

I was reading LincolnGreen's Blip today and thought of people who influenced me whilst growing up besides my mother and father. One of the most prominent was my Grandad, this is him and me a long time ago (take a look at my glasses). I spent a lot of time with him and my gran when I was little, so they did have a helping hand in moulding me into what I am today. We spent many a good holiday in west Wales together and it was his car which had the washing powder poured over (more of the story here) He was Chief Inspector of Newport Transport so had a lot of experience with managers, so when I needed help in draughting a letter to get a job it was him I turned to. He was a massive rugby fan and wasn't happy when I got married on a day Wales were playing Scotland in the 5 Nations, we lost so it wasn't that bad. He supported Newport through thick and thin, the greatest rugby team in the universe (Ponty doesnt know what he is talking about) It was my Grandad who took me regularly to Rodney Parade to watch Newport and, if he were still alive I am sure he would be proud to find out I am one of the photographers there. I could go on how he influenced me but I am sure you have all stopped reading about halfway down. It has been good to write this as whilst doing it it brings back good memories.

Toodles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.