Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Young love...

This isn't the photo I was going to blip, but I can't find the original of the one I was looking for. This young couple getting married are my parents, Bill & Peggy - age 21 and 19 respectively. Pity it's not in colour, as then you'd see my mum's bright red hair!

They've now been married over 50 years, even though they bicker nearly every day, drives me mad. Quite sad really that their 3 children have 4 divorces between us - don't think any of us picked quite as well.

They got married on Boxing Day which at least makes it easier to remember their wedding anniversary! And my mum's birthday is Valentine's Day - so again, no excuses for forgetting.

My dad was born in Ireland & came over to live in White City in West London when he was 10 - he's the oldest of 8 children. My mum is one of 6 and was brought up not far away in Shepherd's Bush and they met because her sister was going out with a lad who was from the same estate (he later became my lovely uncle Allan as they got married too, sadly he's no longer with us).

Think that's enough family history for now, there may be another instalment before the end of the month as our theme is October Origins, details here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.