a town called E.

By Eej

*HISS*

It's bad enough me and my bike have to use the side walk to not get killed by a car, but it seems I am now no longer safe on pedestrian crossings either. Today, as I was crossing at a green light, 2 cars and a semi-semi (as in medium sized big truck) decided their green light was more important. Even though they were turning left and I was going straight and in the time it took them to take that very wide turn they could have seen me easily. I am 6', chunky, and on a bright purple bike. I'm not exactly invisible.
I was in the middle of the road with the first car and the semi not stopping. The third person sort of slowed down and then when I stopped to make sure they were not going to drive over me, accelerated.
Needless to say I yelled some angry words I won't repeat here, but I came home all frazzled. It's infuriating, being made to feel so vulnerable. And I am a careful cyclist, I am aware of everyone on the road and try to anticipate. It's not like I ride around pretending I own the road. Which is why, as the Beloved says, I am still alive.
But I am not feeling much love for the people of Paw Paw right now :/

I am however feeling much love for my Mam who I talked to for 2 hours today, for the Beloved who calmed me down when I came home, for Harley who has, as I'm typing, her head on my arm and a paw over my hand, and for Mrs. Squirrel who has been visiting the yard quite a bit the last few days.
She's still apprehensive (as one can see) but I'm working on it. I do miss my Squire :/

Something else worth loving: My niece Merel's Feats Per Minute project.
Maybe if I had a bike like that people would pay more attention to me? ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.