Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Best days of your life?

Yes I know it's a rubbish photo but the original is blurry & has been stuck in an old album for a bit longer than I care to admit!

And the answer is, no they weren't the best days for me. I didn't enjoy school all that much but that was mainly because I had to go to boarding school due to my dad being in the RAF & posted to Berlin - we spent 8 years living there altogether,

So off I went with my suitcase, having read all the boarding school stories by Enid Blyton, only to find that it wasn't like that at all! Looking back now, my mum and dad must have found it so difficult to let me go, I was only 10 - and quite a young 10 really.

Lots of things I really hated about it, but mostly the food - everything came with potatoes which I really don't like - so I spent most of the time feeling a bit hungry. I used to stay with a favourite aunt & uncle at half terms and the odd weekend, and my aunty Jean used to send me back with a case full of snacks, they didn't last long though.

This blurry photo is of the boarders in my class, think we'd have been 15 here - we did stick together and have some laughs, joking about escape committees and scrounging food off the day girls. We were an odd mix of backgrounds, there were some other RAF/Army kids like me but there were also some girls from much wealthier families but luckily it was before everyone got into branded stuff and we weren't allowed to wear own clothes, uniforms all the time including weekends.

I could go on, church 3 times a week, opening our post to see if it was from boys - but those letters went to one of the day girls who smuggled them in ;o) - but I think you get the picture.

I left at 16 as my dad was posted to Lincolnshire so I refused to stay on for A levels. But I survived, it probably wasn't as bad as my memory now paints it! Can you work out which one is me?

In case you hadn't guessed, this is an October Origins blip


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.