a town called E.

By Eej

Waves

I had just gotten home when I heard a voicemail come in. It was Phyllis, who wanted to go to South Haven for Molly's (her dog) 4th birthday. Did I want to come with?
Now, I already wanted to go Saturday AND my welding glass* came in the mail today; South Haven had very much been on my mind. So we went. I had not anticipated the waves still being so wild. It wasn't very windy inland, but of course, so close to the water it was rather crazy. Not as crazy as last year on October 26th when we were there after a day of tornado warnings, but I still rolled out of the car all excited. Just like Molly :)

We were at the North Beach, and I could see some daredevils on the big pier ... all with cameras. I was a lonely brave soul on the little pier taking photos of them. This is the 'little' pier taken from the big one. For some wave perspective :)

I also got my feet soaked rather immediately by paying no attention whatsoever to the waves coming up to me.

When there was no more light, and when I had taken over 400 photos, I ploughed through the sand dunes back to the car.

Best Monday in the history of Mondays.



*welding glass can be used as a cheap alternative for ND grad filters to take long exposure photos in bright light. I didn't use 'm though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.