Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

So long, Chicago

We are happy to be back home to Seattle safe and sound, just a bit weary. I thought I'd be able to post the blip from the airplane, but the wifi wasn't free which annoyed me -so I read my book.
This photo is the bookend to the one for our arrival last wed nite of the Chicago river, looking east to lake Michigan and the moon. Today we left midday with bright sun and blue sky (and strong shadows of other buildings...)- this is the river looking west to some of the old (relatively speaking- early 1900s) merchandizing buildings. The light one is the merchandise mart built by Marshall Field -limestone, art deco style. The dark red one was a grocers warehouse, Chicago industrial and prairie style design. the clock tower hid a large water tank. The water taxi a spot of color,
We had a wonderful getaway- no family events or meetings - we wanted not to have a schedule and had a list of priorities which we mostly managed while doing lots of walking in this very walkable city full of art and architecture - with fabulous weather, and a few memories of the beginning of our lives together.
Tomorrow I'll try to look at my big camera photos and figure out something to do with some of them, but it's Fiona Day so not much will get done. Hence this iPhone blip for today. Also looking forward to getting caught up with blippers on my computer- I'm behind in looking....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.