Another day goes by

By WelshSi

My first SLR - October Origins

I can't remember a time when my family didn't have a camera. I can remember as a kid we had one of the first Kodak instant cameras which were later recalled due to a court case. Polaroid had patented the instant film and it was ruled that kodak had copied it, or something like that, so we then had a polaroid version. Before that my father had a camera which used 127 film, I may even have the camera in the attic somewhere, or maybe my brother has it. We went through numerous 110 cameras and 135 compacts and then eventually progressed to a SLR.

My brother used to work in a photography shop just across the river where I worked, so as I finished before him I used to cross the river and walk home with him. Every night I would look at all the brochures and drool. Eventually he convinced me to buy one, probably not that hard to convince really. Here it is, the Minolta XGM with a 50mm f1.4 lens, I loved this camera, and it was only the progression in digital that made me put it down. I am now on my 4th digital camera and itching to get my 5th, I do hope Nikon recover soon from all there production problems. Looks like next year now, gutted.

Rugby tomorrow, cool.

TTFN

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.