Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Hump Day!

I'm not sure that I ever feel like I'm on the down-hill side once Wednesday arrives, but today sure felt good. I went to the campus to do my morning Writing Center duty, knowing that I had a late afternoon meeting. So I thought I'd come home between the two to let the pooches out of their crates and to get caught-up on my homework for the class I'm taking (I'm only a week behind--sheeeeesh!).

Ten hours a week is the estimated time per week this class is supposed to require. Last week I was reoccupied; we were gone all weekend, and the instructor knows that everyone in this online class is an instructor, so the deadlines are flexible. So today I seriously needed to do last week's lesson. Hey, I don't think it took me 10 hours. Yeah, I think it only took 9.5!! But the good part is . . .

. . . when I checked my email mid-day, I had a note letting me know the late afternoon meeting had been cancelled. The immediate feeling of relief was amazing. That must be how our students feel when a class is cancelled because a professor is sick or at a conference. So I convinced myself that I couldn't celebrate until I completed Lesson 2.

I'm celebrating! Now if I can get Lesson 3 finished before Sunday, I can celebrate some more. But first I've got to grade some essays. It might be "Hump Day" but equally important, we're over the hump and past the halfway mark of this semester. So all the paper grading will soon decrease and mid-December stop completely.

And the photo, the yellow rose, has nothing to do with "Hump Day." I just thought it was beautiful.

I should have posted a photo of Chloe. Ten months ago today she became ours and we brought her home. She was given to us by a colleague of mine who lives in Riverside and had found Chloe walking the street. That night we stopped at PetSmart on the way home to get her a jacket, a night-time crate, and I.D. tags. She weighed 8 lbs. Before seeing Chloe, we were told she was maltese/shih-tzu -- not a chance. She's some kind of mixture of something; she's got wire hair and sheds like crazy and I would have never picked her and oh what a joy and a blessing I would have missed. So today we 're celebrating Chloe. She loves us when we're not very lovable . . . she's amazing.

It was about 6 weeks later, on Feb.6th, when we were given two little shih-tzus. Now our lives are filled with licks, barks, growls, kibble, water bowls, and fuzzy toys, and on Nov. 6 we'll celebrate 9 months of Max and Mitzi.

Good night from Southern California (with Santana winds arriving soon).
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and Max), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.