Add a dash of adventure..

By Melasaurus

Waging a war against corn syrup

I have one main issue with corn syrup and that is that unless you're in the US, it's a complete pain in the backside to get hold of. And because it has to be imported, it's not particularly cheap either. I've read several times that liquid glucose usually makes a good substitute, but I haven't come across it being sold in large quantities.

Then the other day I read this blog post about making inverted sugar syrup to use as a corn syrup substitute. So I decided to give it a go. I have yet to test it in a recipe, but I've got one lined up to try out next week some time. This is the water and sugar boiling away at 110ºC and happens to be the only photo I took all day.

Fingers crossed that it works...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.