Let There Be Light

By solli

Red

The east coast experienced an untimely ice storm yesterday which left seven million people without power. But today, the skies were sunny and clear so I headed out for a little blip ride to see what I could see.

The park was empty but for the birds, and I was deeply immersed in my macro world when I heard a woman calling. "Excuse me, can you take a picture for me? Today is my birthday and my son is going back to Vermont. I thought we'd go to the park but it never crossed my mind that no one would be here to take the picture because of the storm. But you're here!" She gave me all the information in a matter of seconds as she was crossing the road and I was impressed. It was the mark of a woman who perseveres. I immediately liked her for it.

And her three words resonated with me: son, birthday and Vermont. I've been to Vermont, I have a son, and I'm a firm believer that everyone should get their wish on their birthday. I told her to stand near the Red Maple tree since her hair was red. I took their point and shoot and happily documented the day. Then I took a few more photos with my camera just because. Chatting all the while, we exchanged names, emails and phone numbers and went on to our prospective destinations.

Happy 63rd birthday! You look fabulous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.