SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

New timer

large

My cheap cable release timer arrived today. I was looking for something completely different on Amazon the other day and came across it. It was real bargain, so cheap in fact that the manufacturer neglected to put an on/off switch on it, when you want to stop using it you need to take the batteries out.

So out comes the tripod and outside goes the camera to take a load of 2 minute exposures while I go back inside and put the kids to bed.

50 odd 2 minute exposures later and a lens full of condensation I have another star trails shot. Certainly beats standing around doing the expsoures manually.

Looks like if I want to do a lot of these then I need to make or buy some sort of heating band to keep the temp of the end of the lens up so condensation doesnt form on it. Shots are so much better when the lens isnt misted up!

Tonights shot is quite rough because as well as the condenation there was also a near full moon high in the sky to compete with.

For more info and some better star trail shots see the blips below...

- Through Irenes Tail
- Star Trails on the flight path

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.