Loo Lizard

Eulamprus quoyii - Eastern Water Skink (probably - I was a bit puzzled by the patches of brown scale on the back, but I think that's last season's skin in the process of being shed).
About 6" (15cm) long, plus tail, so a biggish one.

This delightful little creature apparently lives under the hot water heater in my bathroom. Warm, damp and extra floor water laid on now and again. He/she is nice and fat, so must be making a good living. I've occasionally found what I thought was bird poo on the floor and wondered how it got there. Now I know the true culprit - s/he strolled out, coolly left a calling card, ambled into the kitchen to see what was happening, posed for photos and then sloped off back to the cosy den.

With this, the possum in the roof and the occasional bat having a sleepover in my bedroom, I'm beginning to wonder whose house this is. Next I'll be finding the brown snake that lives out the back camping in the kitchen...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.