A Year Older and Wiser?

It's come round again, exactly a year after the last time.

His Lordship's birthday card reads -I'm smiling because it's your birthday and laughing because I know how old you are!
Well, not as old as he is, thankfully, but I don't suppose that is much of a consolation given the number.

It is however a pleasing number numerically if not age wise. It is not a prime number this year : it is a number with factors cubed and squared which appeals to my sense of orderliness.
I am not yet old enough to boast about the number, nor am I young enough to divulge it. I never lie about it, but hope that only my family and close friends remember it.

Last year his Lordship spent the day on the hills with his pals, but this year he has no excuse and has promised to buy me a cake at the Land of Flowers: he does know how to treat a girl.
But I malign him, he is taking me to the theatre tomorrow and has bought me funny skully lights for my bike.

He's off the hook, as are the offspring who have all paid their respects this morning with the added bonus of two renditions of Happy birthday complete with video over the internet. The annual revision of my will is complete with all the names included!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.