Today's Special

By Connections

Books on a Rainy Day

P and I drove 80 miles south this morning and back home again tonight in nasty wet and windy weather, but it was well worth it, as we went to see our grandchildren, Z (9-1/2) and B (age 8), and their parents, P's daughter E and her husband D.

It was raining hard there too, so we spent the day inside, enjoying good food and conversation. There is only so much of the latter that children can take, so after our long lunch, Z went off to her room to look through her books. I joined her there a little later. We both love to read, so as Z pulled all of the books off her shelves so she could review them, I enjoyed perusing each one and hearing her comments about them.

The book in her hand was mine 55 years ago, when I was exactly the same age as Z is now. I gave it to her this year, as we also share a love of horses.

Once the bookshelves were restored to order, Z made a detailed list of things for P and me to do once we returned home, complete with boxes to check when each item was completed. She and I also discussed possible Christmas gift ideas for each other.

It was an altogether satisfactory way to spend a couple of hours on a rainy afternoon for two lovers of books and words!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.