Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Love is...

all some of what you need

Today is a family day in all sorts of ways and for all sorts of reasons.

The photo is of a photo our late father took a couple of years before he died.
He was a language teacher for many years before angina forced him to take early retirement. It's a tough life being a teacher if you do your job properly. My parents were always tired and always stressed.
After Dad retired he studied art and found he had a passion for photography. The things we could talk about now... It wasn't angina in the end that took his life, it was leukaemia - which may also have been related to stress and the pressure it puts on the immune system


Today is the anniversary of our sister's death. She died at only thirteen months old when I was three. I used to not talk about her or any of the other things in life that have hurt me because I always felt that I looked like someone that didn't deserve sympathy. That's too complicated to explain - but I do know now that my life hasn't always been easy and I have deserved the right to talk about it and a perhaps take a little sympathy now and then.

Someone else I love is having a bad day and I want to send her a big hug and hope things improve soon.

Richard cooked me a lovely dinner tonight. I had a tuna steak in the shape of a heart.
At the risk of sounding simple, I think it's important to love; to push a warm emotion out and direct it at someone, some thing. Just to accept that you love something that you do not and cannot own - even if it's a pet, a view, a tree, a place is more important than any possession.

I love this photo. But it's not mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.