a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

The perfect gift

When I got home from work last night and headed to bed at 1:30 a.m., I found a paper on my pillow. It was a drawing by Jack that he made for me because he knew that when I found it, it would be technically my birthday.

The picture was of me (in the middle) and a smaller picture of Jack on the top with a bunch of hearts near him. It also had his name then a heart, then 'Mom' and a heart. It filled my heart with happiness as I fell asleep.

In the morning, Jack came running in and asked if I found it. Then he proceded to tell me what it was about. It was me dreaming about how much I love him, he said. Then on the bottom he told me the heart next to his name meant he loved himself, and the heart next to my name meant that I loved myself.

Wow, I really love this kid!! It was the perfect gift!!

And speaking of Jack, we had his parent/teacher conferences last night and Jack did great!! The teacher said he is such a good kid, doing very well with learning to read, and that he is a perfectionist. No surprise to us. We are so proud of him!

So, back to my special day....my sister-in-law took me to lunch, then when Jack came home we went to a store to pick up a toy for his good report card. When Mark got home, he gave me a present. I wasn't expecting one, because my Canon 7d and 50mm 1.4 lens were technically my birthday and Christmas present, even though they were given to me months ago. When I opened it up, I was surprised to see a Speedlite flash for my camera!! I'm so excited!!!! I've got some great guys here, don't I??

We went out to the Chinese Buffet for dinner....and now it's relaxing time.

This photo is one of my practice shots for a Christmas card. I just got a backdrop stand and wanted to try this with the lights. I've got a bit of work to get it where I want it, but it's not a bad start!!

By the way.....44 isn't so bad after all!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.