Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nothing here for you to see...

I decided that the white breasted nuthatches deserved the spotlight today. They are such friendly little birds and fairly tame, letting me snap away while they are eating. Sometimes they will sit on the feeder and eat awhile, but usually they take one sunflower seed and take it back to a tree to "hide" in the bark. They are industrious little birds, like the chickadees and titmice.

I have read that they are very territorial during the breeding season, but right now their are at least 3 pairs that seem to be coexisting in the same territory with only minor disagreements. In fact, today is the first time I've seen any sort of skirmish between two of these little guys. I watched two males chase each other around a tree for a few minutes until both seemed to tire of it zipped off to eat. The males have slightly more pronounced crowns of dark on their heads, but other than that both sexes look pretty much the same.

The finches were around for awhile, but they tend to be nervous when I am on the deck so I didn't see as much of them as usual. The chickadees, titmice and even the dark eyed junco were not daunted by my presence and came and went pretty freely. I saw the adorable little downy woodpeckers several times today as well as a red-bellied woodpecker - too bad the latter is a bit skittish as he would have made a gorgeous blip today.

My hubs is on his way back from VA and should be home in a few hours. I am sure he will have dinner and pass out - 900 miles in 2 days...

Well, a short week coming up for those of us in the US, followed by a long weekend! Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.