'Shame about the mountain'

Rohan was off school today after being up in the night with a sore tummy. So we had a day of crafts and baking. I taught Rohan to sew, which she picked up straight away and later on she and Lily both had a go on the machine.
In between, we tried to make bagels. I had seen an article about this book, and thought we should give bagels a go.
So it all looked good, after knocking back and adding raisins and cinnamon, they proved and grew puffy and we were ready to go. But. Removing them from the tray, to drop into the boiling water was really tricky, they lost all their puff, and after baking came out looking like butteries. I think they tasted ok, but I am full of the cold and unable to taste properly, but the kids liked them. So any top tips for bagel cooking will be very welcome.
Noah who, despite having spent nearly all of the day in a smash and grab/testosterone rage/pesky little brother kind of a way, is the inspiration for the title. Just to remind me how much I love that, at the moment, he will randomly quote lines form favourite books. Sometimes in the middle of playing, sometimes out of the blue. Current quotes include 'kidnap brilliant inventors' (Manfred the baddie), and the above (Two monsters), which he came out with on his way out of the kitchen earlier. Made me laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.