Gathering of herons

The morning after the general election. The morning was very overcast; unsure if that is an omen. Before midday the sun was bright and the day was almost windless, especially compared with the strong winds of the last few days.

A quiet day for me to let my wrist continue its slow but steady recovery. S and I came up to the beach, as a means of ensuring that I would rest, which I have more or less done.

Still had my morning run. Once again there were lots of herons in the shallows, close to the shore. Perhaps they have seen me before and are getting used to me, because I managed to get somewhat closer than previously. These three were part of a group of 15 or more; I focussed on the three to get a better picture.

The challenge for this week is gathering. The herons are certainly gathering at Snells Beach these days.

Politicians of all shapes, sizes and hues will also be gathering in the next few days, some happy and some less so. The happiest will likely be Winston Peters and the NZ First Party, who came from nowhere to get sufficient party votes to have 8 MPs. I suspect that what drew voters to NZF was their absolute and unequivocal opposition to selling shares in State Owned Enterprises, such as the electricity generators. An interesting election result for an election junkie from a long way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.