The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Trouble At Clydach Lakes

After the endless gloom of yesterday, a welcome return of the sunny weather.

We had to go up to Tonypandy this morning to see the Wedding Photographer and have a look at our photos. They are simply stunning. The hardest party will be whittling them down to the ones we want.

Clive Hughes, our photographer, had put together a disc of about 90 photos set to music. We must have watched it about a dozen times already! Mum and dad are coming for a slap up Sunday dinner cooked by yours truly tonight, so we have plenty of stuff to show them. Dawn's dad sent his photos down this week too, including a rather nice one of me slumped in a chair a 1am! I am sure it will be linked to a future blip! ;o)

As it was so sunny, we decided to do a circuit of the lower Clydach Lake. I was hoping to get some shots of the Dippers I know frequent there. The water level was a bit to high, and fast today. In fact, it was fairly quiet there. The only commotion was these two coots having a protracted ding dong on the lake.

I am quite pleased with this shot, plenty of action in it.

I also managed a few more.

Coot Fight #2 - Rejected it as there was too much colour fringing.

Coot Fight #3

Walking On Water - making a quick getaway.

The garden is dripping with birds today. 19 species on my BTO Garden Bird Count this morning, including a new record high of eight Goldfinches. Expect another garden bird blip tomorrow if it is nice, as I am house bound.

As an aside, shocking news on Gary Speed this afternoon. Tragic waste of life at 41. Only a year older than me. Depression is one of the most misunderstood illnesses in this country. My thoughts go out to his young family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.