The Hazyland Boys

By TheHazylandBoys

Nordic Championship Day 2!

Gosh, what a day!

Up early, packing, breakfast and off to the hall.

Whisper was the first of my dogs that was in the ring. He was super. WOW what a performance. I was so proud of him... You can see a video here! I felt so good about it when I came out of the ring and I must admit that I was disappointed when I heard our marks: 26,77 (out of 30). My disappointment got even worse when I saw my scoring sheets. One judge had given us 28,8, one had given us 28,4 and one had given us 23 (!!!!!). So two judges had us in Top 3 and one judge had marked us down big time. I will ask that judge what she saw that the other two judges did not see. It must have been a really poor routine to be marked that low.

Biscuit was not happy in the ring. It was just not his day. Fair enough - it is dogs and not machines. We gained 26,4 points I think and placed 7th. I am happy with that.

Time to go home... There had been storm warnings over Denmark and the south of Sweden all day and the weather really got worse as we drove southwards. At some point we came to some red lamps on the moterway. We did discuss what they meant, but all signs were in Swedish, which we do not understand, so we decided to continue... It turned out that the red lights meant that a bridge further down the road was closed due to the weather. Apparently crossing it would be too dangerous... Mmmm we did cross it and it was quite bad, but we did not fly off to the sea!

The bridge between Sweden and Denmark (Øresund Bridge) had been closed for lighter vehicle since the morning and we had received SMS updates about the situation all day.

At about 4 pm the message came... The bridge had been closed! Expected opened again at 10 pm. Argh! We got in touch with the rest of the Danish team and met Jette with the dachs Addi for a cup of coffee somewhere near Varberg. No need to rush to the bridge, as we would not get to cross it anyway.

Funnily enough Jette and I both had this feeling that we ought to continue... We had our coffee and back on the motorway. Soon enough to get out of there before the roads around Varberg was closed due to dangerous, flying building materials!!!!!

We had another stop and met up with the rest of the Danish team close to the bridge. We walked dogs, which was very scary - Biscuit nearly flew away!!!!

We drove to the bridge and waited there... but only for half an hour. The bridge was opened at 11.30 and Zoooooooooooooooooom home we went!

I collected Hero at 00.30 and was home at 1.15 am!!!!

This is the entire Danish team - both Heelwork To Music and Freestyle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.