Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Afternoon rest

I finally plucked up the courage to have a chat with this venerable old man who I photographed from above the other day. He happily agreed for me to take his picture. He sits on the sunny bench opposite the river for a long time each afternoon quite immobile and pensive. He was a little difficult to understand given his lack of teeth but he said he enjoyed the sunshine. Today he had chosen a shadier spot which surprised me as the days are getting colder and the warmth is only to be found in the direct sunshine. He will soon not be able to sit out by the river so I recommended a very protected little square higher up in the old village which is warm in the sunshine on the coldest January day. He said he knew the square but I suppose it might be a bit of a steep walk for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.