Calm after the storm

Another rough night and wet and windy morning, but I had an unexpected day off so was virtuous and did some much needed cleaning. Miraculously, everything stopped around 2pm - the wind died down, the rain disappeared and even the sun came out! I pottered around the garden for a bit looking at the damage - quite a few branches and twigs are down and it's incredibly wet but nothing too serious.
Then I treated myself to a swim, sauna and jacuzzi - accent on the sauna. I hadn't been for ages and the pool was practically empty apart from two men with enormous bellies. I had conversations with both, separately, in the sauna - as you do. One turned out to be a German poet, musican and dancer (I have actually seen him dance and it's quite unique - think 70s!!) and we discussed green issues; the other was recently returned from Australia and we discussed the pros and cons of living there (flourishing and hot versus wet and poor). I am now glowing!

Beautiful skies as I came home over the mountain and a welcome stillness. Do biggify because there's a little fishing boat just returning home on the left and that tiny dot in the cnetre is a Great Northern Diver who's just arrived from Iceland!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.