One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

Private Gig

I've only referred to him as The Artist in an earlier blip. In today's blip, you get to see him and his group. Do see them large.

I've heard this band many a time before. An avid supporter and fan I turn up at most of their performances around the city. Today they rewarded me with a private performance. My ears are still ringing from being enclosed in the small studio where - it would be fair to say - I had myself invited to. The bonus was being allowed to try my hand at photographing them playing.

And so I did. Today I felt the need to bring out the fisheye lens as, the space was very small. My interpretation of the Rock/ Alternative genre of music that they play is that the quirkiness of this lens wouldn't be out of place.

See a few other shots from the evening...

The Artist, lead singer and guitarist
John on bass
Enigmatic Fraser
Phil the drummer from Down Under
Best angle I think - I wish I had all of them in this shot
See if you can identify the fifth musician
Couldn't avoid some shiny tech

I will post more photos here soon.

If you are interested, please visit the band's web page on MySpace.

I am hoping to return to shoot them again, if they like some of the results from tonight. I can't wait to try to improve on the shots I got today. Any advice or guidance on photographing musicians will be gratefully accepted.

And thank you very much for the response to my first attempt at shooting a portrait yesterday. I feel encouraged to try my hand at it again.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.