Medlar cheese production

A ferocious night last night - huge amounts of rain and wild winds, but today was calmer, just the odd bit of drizzle and a gentle breeze. My car wouldn't start though - like me, it just sat there coughing. I hate it when that happens!! When himself came to investigate it started perfectly. Humphh. I reckon he (its called Hector) doesn't like the mud - our boreen is a quagmire - that would be a perfectly scientific reason for non-starting wouldnt it?

Not much to report - still feeling a bit spaced out and knocking back honey, lemon and cider vinegar. However, the medlars are ready! They have been lurking in a darkened room for four weeks and this year I am going to do something with them. They have to be bletted before you can use them - my blip almost exaclty a year ago was of medlars freshly bletted. I wasn't that impressed so this year I'm making medlar butter. I have my doubts but the lemon and cinnamon sticks look promising. This concoction is currently simmering away and will then be sieved, sugar added and then the whole lot boiled vigorously. Hopefully it will then set and result in some delicious cheese/jam.
A liitle note to my brother frame by frame - of course there'll be plenty for Christmas!!! Incidentally it's his 100th blip - he's taken a while to get here but it's quite a poignant image today. Who doesn,t remember Danger Mouse, Postman Pat and Mr Toad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.