secret garden

By freespiral

posh gates

Well, I don't think I have many takers for my medlar cheese! Actually, I'm not sure I can get up enough enthusiasm to do something with the box of squashy open arses - yes, I can say that, Chaucer remember!! (and Old Bat for reminding me!).
Anyway, it was very cold last night, and yes it did rain and most of Cork turned into an ice rink but then it improved and I met Sheila who was suffering from cabin fever- her school having been closed all week and her cottage quite remote. We started off by doing a small walk then the sun came out and we continued and did a massive walk. It was wonderful - we walked down to the sea and found some interesting objects on the beach which we hid behind a wall to collect later, we saw swans, cormorants, oyster catchers, curlews and the great northern Diver; we went inland and snooped around a large derelict house and saw peacocks; and we shouted at two ferocious dogs who came to investigate us. We also passed this gate. It is intriguing for the metalwork is rather fine but there are several question here: why is there a posh gate here (there are impressive pillars on each side but no walls and no other buildings) and did the two gates ever meet in the middle? and what's being kept in or out?

Severe problems with internet connections at the moment so hope this uploads. Have a snug weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.