A Blokes Blip!!

Not my usual (what the heck is my usual)

This really isn't for you blipping chicks, but for the blipping blokes. Much more detailed in large.

Doug was involved with this and making sure everything was in place to ensure the safety of the road and users. Lots of approvals from many local authorities.

Alarm went off at 3.30am (I know what you feel like flying) and into the car to drive to the wharf to see this monstrosity & its entourage of pilot vehicles etc set off at 4am to travel the 165km from Timaru to Benmore power station (on the Waitaki River). Some facts that may interest you -

.....Transformer weighs 236 ton & length almost 9 metres
.....The haul used two Kenworth movers pulling and one pushing the load. My picture shows the 2nd puller but can see the attachment to the 1st puller.
.....The trailer has 26 axles - length 58 metres

The TV cameras were there plus another photographer which was going the distance to record the event......and then there was me with my little trusty Canon 7D, no tripod. Hand held so isn't as sharp as it could be but still pretty pleased with it. And, take a look at the ISO 6400!!!
Doug had to send photo's to various bosses around the country.

Funnily enough, I really enjoyed watching. The size of the operation and the planning was very evident.....I hope they made it safely.
They did not cross this, I need to add!!

Rainie (who is wilting)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.