Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The Poetry Walk

I took Cynthia to her cataract surgery appointment this morning. Everything went according to plan and she's feeling fine. The actual procedure only took about five minutes, and the total time including the preliminaries was one and a half hours.

We stopped at the downtown library on the way home. C waited in the car while I went inside to return books and pay some fines. She noticed a solitary rose in the flower bed in front of the car and suggested I use it for my blip. On closer inspection, the rose looked a bit bedraggled, but I found something more interesting -- the Sue C. Boynton Poetry Walk.

I found the following information on a Village Books listing for an anthology of poetry from the first five years of the eponymous poetry contest.

Founded in 2006 and named for an early resident of Whatcom County, Washington, the Sue C. Boynton Poetry Contest is a free annual event open to Whatcom County residents of all ages and all levels of experience. From each year's submissions, two respected Washington poets select 10 Walk Awards and 15 Merit Awards. Walk Award poems are displayed for a year on the Poetry Walk in front of the Bellingham Public Library (one of the few permanent poetry installations in the U.S.); both Walk and Merit Award poems are displayed for a year inside Whatcom Transportation Authority buses that serve routes throughout the county. The Sue C. Boynton Poetry Walk and Contest is a program of Whatcom Poetry Series, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

I also found a fascinating story about Sue Boynton. I wish I'd had the pleasure of knowing her.

Here's one of the poems I saw today.

Once again I've learned something interesting because of Blipfoto, and I'm grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.