La vida de Annie

By Annie

"Palaces"

Co-commissioned by the Bluecoat and Imperial College London, Palaces is a resin sculpture and participatory artwork made from thousands of milk teeth donated by children around the UK.

Met up with photographer and previous Burton Manor (R.I.P.) lecturer Brian Anderson for the first time since I broke my leg and brain. Coincidentally he was recently in hospital having suffered a minor proper (he says) stroke and just happened to be given a copy of the Liverpool Echo to read by another patient. To his surprise it was the edition in which I was generously featured for my services to Blipfoto under very trying conditions, and once he was home he contacted me to suggest lunch. After sampling the delicious savoury crepes in John Lewis, which were almost today's blip, we avoided the heaving shops and toddled along to the Bluecoat to see what culture was on offer. Although the embedded infant teeth are a bit cringeworthy, the resin ice-sculpture is quite beautiful and well worth a look. Brian is just visible looking through the swirls. Details here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.