AJ's Snaptorium

By AJTaylor

Robbie Burns, a Fairground Attraction?

The thought behind the convaluted/contrived title was I remembered a version of "Ae fond Kiss" performed by Eddie Reader, late of Fairgrond Attraction.
I whinder whit Robbie would hae made o a' this cairy on in George Square


Ae fond kiss

ae fond kiss and then we sever
ae fareweel, alas for ever
deep in heart-wrung tears I'll pledge thee
warrin' sighs and groans I'll wage thee

who shall say that fortune grieves him
while the star of hope she leaves him
me, nae cheerful twinkle lights me
dark despair around benights me

fare thee well, thou first and fairest
fare thee well, my best and dearest
thine be like, joy and treasure
peace, enjoyment, love and pleasure

had we never lov'd so kindly
had we never lov'd so blindly
nor never met, nor never parted
we would never be so broken-hearted

ae fond kiss, and then we sever
ae fareweel, alas, for ever
deep in heart-wrung tears I'll pledge thee
warrin' sighs and groans I'll wage thee


Eddie Reader

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.