Festive lights

Headed out this afternoon to look for something festive to mark my 500th Blip. Although I started slowly, only averaging about one every couple of days for the first six months, since the end of October 2010 I've managed an unbroken sequence of over 400. As usual I had a number of different options but I really liked the mirroring of the ferris wheel and the circular light window that (presumably) sheds some light on the underground parts of the National Gallery complex. I did think I'd just leave it as it was straight out of the camera, but then thought the circular window looked like it could be a mirror, and therefore did a bit of gentle photoshopping to add the reflection on the surface that I wish was really there. Don't think this breaks the Blipfoto rules as digital manipulation is allowed, as long as all elements were taken on the day, which they were.
So 500 blips. It continues to be a great incentive to take pictures. Sometimes it's easy, just posting something from the day but on other days I'll set something up inside, or else look for something interesting in the ordinary, on the way to the chip shop or on the way back from playing football, for example. And Blipfoto is such an inspiring and supportive place. Other people's pictures from all over the world are a daily source of delight and inspiration. I don't always have the time to comment as much as I want to, and I always appreciate the comments that people leave on my pictures. This will be a much lower key Blipday, after the excitement of my 365, with my double-page spread in the local paper back in August.
Thank you all.
Here's to the next 500!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.