The high road

By Travellersjoy

Dan's Place

Today I thought most of West Cork would be shopping in Bantry or Skibbereen and as wasn't feeling like being around crowds of people Chistmas shopping I took myself off to a very remote place on the peninsula, Dan's place. Dan originally from America moved to West Cork, some thirty or so years ago and then spent half the year for the next twenty years building his house. The other half of the year would be spent traveling the world, sometimes on a bike! He is in China at the moment.
The house built of stone from the locality, sits on a cliff with stunning views out to the Atlantic. The roof turf and in the summer is pink with sea thrift. In the winter the salt spray hits the windows. One can just make out the house, I wanted to show the setting, another time I'll blip a closeup of the house. The lake is wonderful to swim in especially after a hot tub!
This has always been a special place for me, so elemental, mountains, ocean, wildlife and peace. Walked along the coast and enjoyed a picnic lunch, heaven!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.