Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

The Temptation of Christ(mas)

I have not had a drop of alcohol for a couple of years now.

I used to drink too much, far more than the recommended amount and it was part of daily life. It never went too far, but I would certainly say in hindsight that it was not ideal at all - OK, borderline problem :-\
Lots of wine with and after tea - proper middle-class alcoholism :)

Two and a half years ago, after a couple of random collapses and rapidly deteriorating and diverse symptoms that could not be explained for ages I was labelled with the PVFS badge (ME, but triggered by a virus). Unfortunately, this coincided with my wedding to the delightful Mrs H and although in the very early stages, prevented me from having the day I wanted. I only had about three glasses of wine that day, and that was the end of my drinking. The illness took hold of me, and with a few ups and downs dominated my life for the next year including two months off work and a huge impact on all areas. Bloody nightmare it was.

However, apart from one night where I had a couple of glasses of champagne (and felt crap for a few days afterwards) I have stayed off the stuff for fear of my symptoms returning. I feel a hell of a lot better for it, and have saved a fortune (feeds my gadget habit now!). But Christmas is the only time of year when I get the urge to have a drink.

I was given this bottle by one of my pupils today as a thank you/Christmas present. Bless her - she's an angel and a joy to have in my class. I would normally just give it away, but something in my head said not to today. Trouble is that red wine was my drink of choice. Ever since a project based in Paris that I worked on for over a year, I loved the stuff....and this looks a beauty of a bottle.

I have been healthy for the last year. Do I continue to be alcohol-free (and I know this is the right thing to do) or give into the temptation and share it with Mrs H on Christmas Day (which I want to do)?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.