ANDY597

By ANDY597

Shovel and a Pick and Walking Stick

I don't normally talk about specifics that happened in work, however I think that these two incidents are worthy.

First incident, an Agent phoned requesting she transfer a call to me.

Agent: I have somebody on the line that I want to transfer through.
Me: Ok.
Agent: I don't know what his enquiry is.
Me: Ok.
Agent: Well, he gave me his name and I was destracted from there.
Me: Ok.
Agent: Well, his last name is St Louis, which reminded me of the film.
Me: Ok.
Agent: But, then he gave me his first name, which destracted me more.
Me: Ok.
Agent: His first name was Peter Andre
Me: Ok.
Agent: So, can I transfer him through
Me: Ok.
Agent, Great, what's your name.
Me: Chief Inspector Morse.
Agent: Ok.

The second incident, is much more intriguing, a gentleman of a challenging persuastion, if I can stretch to this description, was adamant that I was personally discriminating against him as I was unable to despatch a letter to him in his native tongue, foreign to these shores. Now, anybody that knows me well, knows that I feel no racial prejudice to any race, creed or colour in the world apart from being perhaps a little Welshist.

However, I would like it noted and I am not ashamed to admit, that if I chose another country to emigrate to, then I would do my level best to integrate and respect their culture as opposed to try and impose my own and learn the language. I respect that other people have individual beliefs, there is no room for a world with racism and I am proud that this country invites other nations to share in it's population without equivication.

A recent speech by the Australian Prime Minister really sums up my feelings precisely.

Quote: 'IMMIGRANTS, NOT AUSTRALIANS, MUST ADAPT... Take It Or Leave It. I am tired of this nation worrying about whether we are offending some individual or their culture. Since the terrorist attacks on Bali, we have experienced a surge in patriotism by the majority of Australians.'

'This culture has been developed over two centuries of struggles, trials and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom.'

'We speak mainly ENGLISH, not Spanish, Lebanese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society, learn the language!'

'Most Australians believe in God. This is not some Christian, right wing, political push, but a fact, because Christian men and women, on Christian principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented. It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture.'

'We will accept your beliefs, and will not question why. All we ask is that you accept ours, and live in harmony and peaceful enjoyment with us.'

'This is OUR COUNTRY, OUR LAND, and OUR LIFESTYLE, and we will allow you every opportunity to enjoy all this. But once you are done complaining, whining, and griping about Our Flag, Our Pledge, Our Christian beliefs, or Our Way of Life, I highly encourage you take advantage of one other great Australian freedom, 'THE RIGHT TO LEAVE'.'

'If you aren't happy here then LEAVE. We didn't force you to come here. You asked to be here. So accept the country YOU accepted.'

So putting my day aside, I agree to pick up Connie after work as we are travelling to Douglas which is below Biggar. As this rear wheel drive car is mince in the snow, I have phoned her and ask her to grab a shovel, blankets, wind up torch and warm clothing to throw in the boot of the car.

Mark asks me on the way home whether or not I am planning something and whether or not that I need an aliby.

Connie must have been thinking the same thing as half way away from home, she asks whether or not I play to "do away with her" as she wonders if that was what the spade and torch was for.

Update to follow tomorrow as to what happened next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.