Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Winds

My alarm bell this morning was a mixture of high wind, horizontal rain and the dam chicken that has taken to roosting in the wall cavity behind my bed.
I'm assuming it's a chicken. Either that or a gigantic rat!

As daylight took over from darkness the strength of the wind became clear. My garden chairs and a couple of larger pots have blown some meters from their position yesterday. The poly tunnel is miraculously still standing but only because the entrance is facing west.

Emily came around and I decided that she was going to get wet for a good cause... my blip. :)
I found an umbrella which has been hanging around forever. I don't use them so decided to sacrifice it to Aeolus. Loaded the car with the camera, Emily and the dogs, destination Newlands Corner.
Standing at 170meters the views, on better days, are spectacular. From where I live, at the bottom of the hill, the wind speed must have almost doubled.

The only way to get this shot in the pouring rain was to open the back of my Fiat Multipla, sit right back to stay dry protect the camera, and send Emily out for a soaking! The umbrella survived a full minute but not a second longer. R.I.P

The rain has cleared again now but the wind is still strong...come on Emms! Round 2. :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.