Big Hill

By bighill

Baddeck River!

I have changed this entry!

We headed off for a hike - had lunch first of all at the Farmer's Daughter, nice change! then off to hike Salt Mountain! When Terry suggested this hike, and i looked at the description....steep in parts....i was a little bit dubious! And indeed it was quite steep in parts, but more of a problem for me was the wet, muddy and somewhat slippery trail that we had to follow! One of the things that i bemoan the most about this getting older stuff...is my somewhat deteriorating confidence in my balance...plus my knees hurt sometimes! So, when i realised i wasn't having any fun at all on this hike, i told Terry he could go ahead and i'd just linger where i was! which was actually quite nice and the sun came out a few times and i was very happy snapping away with the camera! But it still left me feeling defeated on some level. I've been aware of this feeling of decline for the past couple of years, and it's not getting any better! So, i think i'll investigate some strengthening exercises.....i've heard other friends in this age group (late 50's, early 60's) so i know it aint just me! but still, it's such a pain in the ass!!! i'm not usually a quitter, but i gave in to my feelings of discomfort today! we'll see what can be done!

we ended up in a lovely area, not far from the original hiking place, and it was wonderful. even ground, close to the water, thro some lovely birch tree lined areas. ended up on a bit of a beach and incredible vistas. i took this shot on our way home, across the Beddack River!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.