Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Spinning Spirals

Through my childhood pretty much all our Christmases were spent with my grandparents (on mum's side) in Edmonton. My grandad Smith was my favourite of my grandparents - a great, fun character of 100% Romani blood, who just LOVED all the lights and decorations. He decorated most of their flat! He was a big kid at heart. He always had loads of these crinkly foil spirals - only small ones though, maybe 3"-4" long, in assorted colours. He'd pin them in rows down either side of the hallway ceiling, so when a door was opened and a draft created, they'd spin and twirl. I was always entranced by them. Sadly he died when I was only about 10 years old, and my nan (a much more subdued character) stuck to just a tree and a few hanging decorations each Christmas after that. I always missed those spinning spirals (since we were away in Edmonton for well over a week every Christmas my own parents only put up a small tree, it didn't seem worth the effort of doing any more).
Once upon a time these spirals were easy to find, so became part of my own Christmas decor once I left home. I always used to compress them back down to store them so they had a limited life before getting tatty. Eventually I found I couldn't get hold of them any more.
Then several years ago I noticed these large versions for sale in Woolies (remember them!?). So I bought loads! I've been using some of them ever since as a mobile hanging from a rigid plant support ring covered in green tinsel (they're about 15" long" - and now I no longer compress them down again, but store them as they are in an old cardboard keyboard box - perfect for the job! ) When they do eventually get tatty I have twice that many still unused in their original packaging -I reckon they'll outlast me! I hang them in front of the fireplace, and a fan heater underneath provides the air flow to keep them spinning and twirling.
Of course, they will always remind me of grandad too ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.