Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Sunsets 'n' Slide

Tonight I went to a brilliant gig at Norwich's Maddermarket - I'd been looking forward immensely to it for a while. So I had today off work, as I needed to collect my ticket from the box-office by 7pm, requring me to leave home at about 6. I'd originally planned to blip something relating to the gig, but this sunset took my eye while I was sorting my horses feeds about 4pm. Since I ended 2011 with a sunset I decided to use this one as my first of 2012.

The gig was Dave Kelly, blues slide (bottleneck) guitarist, of The Blues Band on acoustic with Paul Jones , also of The Blues Band and formerly of Manfred Mann, on blues harp (harmonica). Right up my street! I just LOVE slide guitar! I'd definitely go to another of their gigs, and plan to also catch The Blues Band next time they visit Norwich.
The gig didn't start until 7.30 so I took a mooch around Norwich market place (which was closed of course!) armed with my camera for some night-time pics (I rarely get to Norwich at night).

This is the side of Maddermarket taken from under the arch across the footpath beside the adjoining church.

Other places I took pics of are:

Jarrold's store still bedecked with its Christmas decor

St. Peter Mancroft church which overlooks the market, and where now hangs the door which used to hang in the entrance arch to the old Memorial chapel at Bracondale which I blipped in July.

The Forum, built on the site of the old Norwich library which burned down, and which now houses the new library, BBC East's headquarters, and is also used for music functions, exhibitions and other community events.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.