Spiralling free

A wild, windy, cold and wet day. I popped in to Annabel's for a coffee and chat about their recent holiday in La Gomera. They had both been ill for the first week but the second week had been more enjoyable. The island looks an interesting place- rugged and volcanic complete with a rain forest, and the food sounded good, cheap and healthy. They had a terrible journey home, gale force winds in Cork airport, flat tyre at 3am and then several roads blocked by trees. Welcome home.

I braved the weather to go and investigate a new holy well that someone told me about yesterday - it is tiny but apprently still used - just a little stoned recess in a bank. It's very close to an ancient burial ground so I guess it's all connected. My website of interesting things on the peninsula (probably only interesting to me) is progressing well - still not viewable yet but hopefully will be shortly.

These rather smart spirals on top of an old gate caught my attention. I dont no where they're going to - they didnt seem connected to anything but there is a path .......... hmmm.

PS to my blip yesterday - a little research has proved that what I thought was a chamber burial is infact the very tiny stone circle - extreme right of the collection of monuments; the big boulders are 3 boulder burials and the 2 stones in the front are just that, two standing stones. How and why they all fit together we shall probably never know, but there was definitely an energy and atmosphere to the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.