Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Introducing .... Sylvia!

Well, the thing my husband has been predicting came to pass this morning - TWO squirrels showed up on the deck for breakfast! Extreme Seymour flounced up first, coming via his usual route on the west side of the deck. He helped himself to peanuts, and retreated to his limb at the corner of the deck. While I was watching him through the window, I caught movement from the stairs at the other end of the deck ... and along came the second squirrel! The two seemed to be on good terms, which is odd since grey squirrels are quite territorial usually. I have no idea if the second one is female, but I have randomly assigned the female gender to her. And, thanks to Sue and Lorenzo for naming her!

Sylvia (or Mrs. Extreme Seymour for more formal occasions) was in a bit of a dither about all the peanuts. After trying unsuccessfully to cram more than one in her mouth, she settled on just one prize, and clutching it in her mouth, she dashed down the stairs and buried it right below our deck. By the way, Phoebe was watching the whole thing and she was BESIDE herself!

After stashing a bunch of peanuts, she decided to investigate the other dining options. She was quickly put off by the tube feeder (which I am glad of since it contains the more expensive sunflower hearts!

The blue jays, who seem to be slightly lower than squirrels on the pecking order, sat in the tree by the deck and screeched, occasionally swooping over the squirrels, or position themselves directly above, trying to look intimidating. No luck. I put out some peanuts for them later after the squirrels had gone.

I had Round Two of the Root-Canal-Renovation this morning and I am very happy to say that the worst part of the event is over. My jaw hurts like Hell, but I have some la-la-pills and I am not afraid to use them if it gets much worse. I will still need to go to my regular dentist for a crown on this tooth, but at least the excavation part is behind me. I am such a weeny.

Huh, I just saw that my little cold finch from yesterday made the Spotlight page briefly today - that's cool. I'm really not quite sure what the criteria is for the Spotlight page, but it is flattering never the less.

Hope everyone in Blip-land is good. I sure do enjoy this community of photographers. Big thanks to Lorenzo for introducing me to Blip.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.