Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

1000 Blips

1013 days ago I lost my dear sister in law Hilary, aged 44. She had started to post some images in a journal called "What I saw today" just before she died and that is how I first heard about this site.

1000 days ago, I decided to start a journal myself, as a way of remembering her and also to help me get through a very difficult time. I never thought I would get this far, let alone post an image everyday without any gaps. Thank you to Joe and Blipcentral for making it possible. Thank you to everyone who has supported me on the journey. Photography has opened up so many opportunities I would never have dreamed of back in April 2009. My best Blip moment has to be New Arrival.

I felt Hil should be part of my special day, so here is a fun watercolour she made for a birthday gift "and the blue whale ... splashed his tail ... sending waves crashing onto the sand ...". I have also included the three main lenses I use for my Blips and as my regulars will know, some of my favourite celebratory chocolate delights (one a day due to healthy eating New Year resolution).

The last hundred have been the hardest due to lack of time to edit, post and comment. I plan to continue here, but I might not post everyday now, I just need time for other things.

And my new camera? Sorry to disappoint, but I've joined the Blue Brigade, and it's a new blue camera beside my name. Keep watching though, as I am seriously saving for something.

So I may see you tomorrow, or the next day, but it will be soon. Onwards to 1001.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.