Somewhere over the rainbow

1. I get home about 1.30am. I am so addled and weary I can barely count how many hours I've been moving. I open my door and find that Colin has brought pancakes and cheese on toast makings. This is a photo of him in his new Rapha cardy, my tagines standing proud in the background.

2. After a blether and a brandy, my long, long day ends. I've been talking a lot about my dad today and I realise how much all of this kind of thing is bound up with him. There's a whack of saddness right in the stomach when I realise that all I want to do is phone him and tell him all about it.

3. I head over to D and C's for tea and see mum and the girls. It's lovely to catch up and Ellis entertains as Snow White, then Dorothy.

4. Mum and I go out for lunch. She lets me rabbit on and on. She lets me tell her all about it.

5. Home and all I want is to curl up in front of the fire and snooze, the rain and wind battering against the window, the lamps on. It's nice to be able to do what you want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.