an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

11. big ideas

i seriously am incapable with and hate the iphone camera, by the way.

-----

well I posted my entry for yesterday and I guess something's gone a bit wrong because now it's awaiting approval. which is odd because it posted, and then I modified the original to be black and white and now it's awaiting approval. egh, whatever.

-----

so, yes, this is perhaps one of those odd copouts: a tiny little aspect of texas, right? the organization that led me to ride my bicycle across the continent to alaska in the name of helping all those involved in fighting cancer. great organizations like this can be found everywhere.

but the truth is behind the face of it all: what I love about this is the big, absurd idea. texas has spawned a lot of people with a lot of big ideas, most of whom I feel we can have some pride for (one infamous family aside, who, I should add, are not even TEXAN originally):

stephen f. austin
buddy holly
walter cronkite
carol burnett
howard hughes
willie nelson
roy orbison
nolan ryan
dan rather
lyndon b. johnson
lady bird johnson
melinda gates
wes anderson
steve martin
lance armstrong
john mackey
tex avery
donald judd
robert rauschenberg
larry mcmurtry
kinky friedman
angela belcher
eugene mcdermott
cecil howard green
barbara jordan
janis joplin
gene roddenberry

....a curated selection among many others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.