Algae, lichen and rust

My cold has duly developed. I'm a streaming heap of uselessness, erupting every so often in sneezing fits :) But despite this I still managed to take the dogs out this morning - I just couldn't resist their pleading brown eyes....

We went to Castor Hanglands, where I know I'm not likely to come across any other people. For once I timed it right and had the benefit of the only sunny part of the day - which I luxuriated in. I explored a new route which took me further than I expected through ancient woodland and past the ponds, where they have been clearing overhanging willows. The dogs and I were quite tired when we arrived home.

While I was out I just felt so happy and could breathe easily!! As a child, when I was off from school because of illness my Mum would often take me for a country walk before I returned - to recuperate. It never failed to lift my spirits, and the same applied today.

My photograph is part of an old harrow, which has been standing on the site for at least twenty five years. It's gradually becoming colonised by living things mostly algae and lichens. I found out today that Pleurococcus algae are estimated to be the most abundant living things - with ten trillion trillion individuals. I wonder who worked that one out?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.