The way I see it.

By christinePears

Tuesday Trip

This is the second write-up! When I hit preview I got the "Oh No!" message and my writing had all gone - Arrgh!

So the short version is that me and my pupils went on a trip to St Andrews (Scottish Episcopal) Cathedral in Inverness today. It was built 1866-1869 in Gothic revived style.

It was lovely to see how much they enjoyed being in the interior of this old building. They noticed the different smell when we entered and were intrigued by everything from the stained glass windows to the candles burning. There was nobody else around so the mobile ones even got a quick shot in the pulpit!

This photo was taken looking up at the interior of the roof. It has intricately carved wooden panels and stonework. Fascinating to think of how many skilled man hours must have gone into it's construction nearly 150 years ago. Our modern buildings are very utilitarian and stark by comparison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.